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Q. If a voter changes their name, do they have to 
re-register to vote?
A. Yes! Check your voter information and make 
sure it is up to date.

Q. I registered to vote through social media. Do I 
need to re-register with the Secretary of State? 
A. If you registered to vote through a third party 
online or through social media, we encourage you 
to verify that your voter registration information is 
correct.

Q. I have a felony conviction. Can I vote?
A. Individuals who lose their 
voting rights due to a felony 
conviction may re-register to 
vote upon completion of their 
sentence. A sentence is not 
considered complete until 
probation or parole is finished. 
The voter registration form 
includes an affidavit attesting an 
individual’s right to vote has been 
restored.

•	 Ensure the applicant has completed the 
entire voter registration form – including the 
signature line.

•	 Check applications for completion and 
legibility.

•	 Contact your county election office or 
the Secretary of State’s office if you have 
questions.

•	 Promptly submit the voter registration form 
completed by the registrant to the county 
election office.

Upon receipt of the voter registration form, the 
county election office processes the application and 
mails a notice to each confirming the addition to the 
statewide voter registration database. If the voter 
registration form is considered incomplete by the 
election office, the office will notify the applicant of 
the additional information needed.

Completed voter registration forms can be 
submitted by mail or hand delivery to the county 
or Secretary of State’s office. Confirm method of 
delivery your county election office website.

Voters may check the status of their voter 
registration form on our website, https://myvoteinfo.
voteks.org/voterview.

You can use your phone or tablet camera to scan 
the QR code to access VoterView.
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Kansas law requires a qualified elector to be 
registered to vote to cast a ballot. Our office is 
pleased to provide this guide to voter registration 
drives as we continue to encourage all eligible 
Kansans to register to vote and participate in 
elections.

Thank you for participating in our electoral 
process and getting involved in your community. 
During the voter registration process, please do 
not hesitate to contact the Secretary of State’s 
office or your county election office if you have 
any questions or require assistance.

The deadline to register to vote in any election 
is 21 days before an election. Forms must be 
received in the county election office or the 
Secretary of State’s office by that date in order to 
be eligible to vote in the upcoming election.

Voters can register to vote online if they have a valid 
driver’s license or nondriver’s identification issued by 
the state of Kansas. Voters who do not have a valid 
identification card issued by the state of Kansas 
must register to vote via paper application.

The Kansas Constitution requires a person to be 
a U.S. Citizen, resident of Kansas, and at least 
18 years of age to be eligible to vote. Kansas law 
requires a person to be registered to vote to cast 
a ballot.

Kansans who are 17 years of age and who will 
turn 18 before the next election, may register to 
vote. Their registration will become active upon 
their 18th birthday.

Individuals, who are otherwise qualified to vote, 
shall not be prohibited from casting a ballot. State 
law allows any individual with an eligibility issue 
to cast a provisional ballot. There are several 
situations where a provisional ballot may be 
cast: failure to provide photo ID, address or name 
change not reflected on the voter’s registration 
information, or the voter has already requested an 
advance by mail ballot.

All polling places are accessible to individuals with 
disabilities. Each polling location has systems for 
those with disabilities to cast their ballot.

The same form is used to register to vote, 
change a name, change an address, or change 
party affiliation. The form is available in both 
English and Spanish and can be accessed on the 
Secretary of State’s website or from the county 
election office.

Registrants who are registering to vote for the 
first time and do not have a Kansas issued 
identification card must complete a paper 
registration form.

You can use your phone or 
tablet camera to scan the QR 
code to access the online voter 
registration form.
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2022 election dates
All candidates for U.S. Senate, U.S. House, statewide office, state legislature, 
and elected judicial positions must file their candidacy with the Secretary of 
State’s office. Due to the redistricting process, the filing deadline for some of 
these positions has shifted.

june 1 (12:00 pm)
Candidate filing deadline for U.S. Senate, statewide office, and 
elected judicial positions

june 10
Deadline to change party affiliation prior to Primary Election

june 10 (12:00 pm)
Candidate filing deadline for U.S. House, state legislature, and 
state board of education positions

july 12
Last day to register to vote for Primary Election

july 13
First day advance by mail ballots are mailed and advance 
in-person voting may begin

july 26
Last day for voters to apply for an advance by mail ballot

august 2
PRIMARY ELECTION

october 18
Last day to register to vote for General Election

october 19
First day advance by mail ballots are mailed and advance 
in-person voting may begin

november 1
Last day for voters to apply for an advance by mail ballot

november 8
GENERAL ELECTION
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