Finance Rates

Our office provides the following finance rates to ensure that our customers are provided with every necessary business tool. The usury and Kansas code mortgage rates are no longer updated do to changes in statute. Judgment rates are updated once a year.

If you have questions regarding the application of usury or code mortgage rates, please visit the State Bank Commissioner’s website or call their office at (785) 296-2266. The judgment rate is used in the Kansas court system. Questions regarding this rate should be directed to your attorney.

 

Judgment Rate

(K.S.A. 16-204)

Effective Dates Rate
July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020 7.00%
July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2019 6.5%
July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018 5.75%
July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017 5.00%
July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016 4.75%
July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2015 4.75%
July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2014 4.75%
July 1, 2012 – June 30, 2013 4.75%
July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2012 4.75%
July 1, 2010 – June 30, 2011 4.75%
July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010 4.50%
July 1, 2008 – June 30, 2009 6.25%
July 1, 2007 – June 30, 2008 10.25%
July 1, 2006 – June 30, 2007 10.25%
July 1, 2005 – June 30, 2006 8.25%
July 1, 2004 – June 30, 2005 6.25%
July 1, 2003 – June 30, 2004 6.00%
July 1, 2002 – June 30, 2003 5.25%
July 1, 2001 – June 30, 2002 7.25%
July 1, 2000 – June 30, 2001 10.00%
July 1, 1999 – June 30, 2000 8.50%
July 1, 1998 – June 30, 1999 9.00%
July 1, 1997 – June 30, 1998 9.00%
July 1, 1996 – June 30, 1997 9.00%
July 1, 1995 – June 30, 1996 9.25%
July 1, 1994 – June 30, 1995 7.50%
July 1, 1993 – June 30, 1994 7.00%
July 1, 1992 – June 30, 1993 7.50%
July 1, 1991 – June 30, 1992 9.50%
July 1, 1990 – June 30, 1991 11.00%
July 1, 1989 – June 30, 1990 11.00%
July 1, 1988 – June 30, 1989 10.00%
July 1, 1987 – June 30, 1988 9.50%
July 1, 1986 – June 30, 1987 10.50%
July 1, 1982 – June 30, 1986 15.00%
Before July 1, 1982 12.00%

 

Kansas Code Mortgage Rate

(K.S.A. 16a-1-301)

Pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 16a-1-301(11)(a), the code mortgage rate is 12 percent. The reference rate referred to in the definition of “code mortgage rate” set forth in K.S.A. 16a-1-301(11)(b)(i) is discontinued, has become impractical to use, and/or is otherwise not readily ascertainable from the federal home loan mortgage corporation.

 

Kansas Usury Rate

(K.S.A. 16-207)

Effective July 1, 2013, the provisions of K.S.A. 16-207 are revised. The floating cap is removed on the interest rate charged for first real estate mortgage loans and contracts for deed to real estate, and the obligation is removed of the secretary of state to publish notice of the maximum effective rate of interest per annum for notes secured by all real estate mortgages and contracts for deed to real estate. The parties will be subject to continuing law which provides a rate that cannot exceed 15.0 percent per annum, unless otherwise specifically authorized by law. The secretary of state will no longer publish the usury rate.